Metro Manila is back to GCQ until end of August

Metro Manila, together with the four neighboring provinces Cavite, Bulacan, Laguna, and Rizal, are back to General Community Quarantine (GCQ) starting today, August 19.

Philippine medical frontliners asked for a two-week timeout due to their endless fighting with the COVID-19 virus. Aside from relieving their exhaustion, this must be done to contain community transmission and to boost the health and safety of the frontliners. 

The frontliners called for Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ); however, the administration only announced Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ) for August 3 to August 18 since the economy must be opened for business.

And now, after two weeks, the major parts of Luzon are back to GCQ. Here is the list of the following areas under the GCQ protocols in the Philippines:

  • Metro Manila
  • Bulacan
  • Cavite
  • Laguna
  • Rizal
  • Nueva Ecija
  • Batangas
  • Quezon
  • Iloilo City
  • Cebu City
  • Lapu Lapu City, Cebu
  • Mandaue City, Cebu
  • Talisay City, Cebu
  • Municipality of Consolacion, Cebu
  • Municipality of Minglanilla, Cebu

In President Rodrigo Duterte’s late-night public address on Monday, he said that the entire country is already under the MGCQ.

He also reminded the public to follow the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases protocols and measures in order to combat the spread of the COVID-19 virus.

Part of these new rules released by the Palace and IATF-EID, commuters and workers need to have face shields already, not just face masks when going out to public places like office and transportation places.

The public is still asked to stay at home as much as possible, practice social distancing, wear masks, wash their hands often, and disinfect their goods from outside to keep safe and healthy.

The ilovephilippines team would update the latest news about COVID-19 in the country, so make sure to tune in this website.

Rate this post

Related Posts